Stage 2 Experimenting with structures_Exercise 2

In this exercise I was told to choose a surface material. I have chosen rough and used Scoubidou strings. I am not sure if it is still available in stores, but it was a real trend a couple of years ago. Scoubidou strings are used to make bracelets.

Three-strand braids

In the sample below I made two three strand braids using purple and green paper string, which is also quite rough and pink and yellow scoubidou strings.

Three strand braid

Three-strand braid.

Three strand braid close-up.

Three-strand braid close-up.

Four-strand braids

There are different types of scoubidou strings. In the first two braids in the sample below I used a thicker, more flexible type of string. The third braid is made out of thinner, shinier scoubidou string with is also less flexible. I made the fourth braid using satin cord. I wanted to see the difference between a braid using a smooth material and a rough material. It may not be too clear in the picture, but the braid made out of satin cord is a lot straighter. It does not twist as much as the braids that I made by using the scoubidou string. The satin cord was also easier to use.

Four strand braids using scoubidou strings and satin cord.

Four-strand braids using scoubidou strings and satin cord.

Four strand braids using scoubidou strings and satin cord close-up.

Four-strand braids using scoubidou strings and satin cord close-up.

Four-strand chevron braid

I was not familiar with the four-strand chevron braid, but once I got the hang of it, I really like it and I like the effects you can achieve. In the top braid I used the satin cord again. The second and third braid are a combination between rough and soft materials. I used the scoubidou strings in combination with yarn. I made the fourth braid using only the scoubidou strings.

Four-strand chevron braids.

Four-strand chevron braids.

Four-strand chevron braids close-up.

Four-strand chevron braids close-up.

Leave a Reply

