Stage 2 Experimenting with structures_Exercise 1

This exercise reminded me of when I was a child. I used to weave quite a lot. At first just paper weaving and later I received a toy loom from my parents.

Looking through the suggestions in this exercise, the possibilities are indeed endless. I started by weaving two pages from and old TV guide. On the green page there was an image of a bird and I quite like the effect that I got when I started weaving the other page through it.

Weaving with pages from and old TV guide.

Weaving with pages from and old TV guide.

Then I took two sheet of origami paper. The paper is a little thicker than the paper from the TV guide, so it was easier to weave.

 

Weaving with origami paper

Weaving with origami paper.

I have an enormous collection of old envelopes because the insides of the envelopes are often quite pretty. I decided to experiment with the shapes of the strips. I cut the orange envelope in wavy strips and the envelope with the print in straight strips.

Weaving with an envelope and origami paper

Weaving with envelopes.

I received a map made out of thin card at a antique book fair. I have woven coffee packaging through it. I like the shiny surface against the matte surface. The map was quite sturdy so it was a little more difficult to weave.

Map made out of thin card and coffee packaging

Map made out of thin card and coffee packaging.

Apart from old envelopes, I also collect used wrapping paper. When receiving a present, I always try to open it really carefully so I do not tear the paper. Family and friends have gotten used to me collecting wrapping paper, so I sometimes receive paper from them too. In the two samples below I used Christmas wrapping paper. I have cut the wrapping paper in wavy strips and woven yarns and strips of fabric through it.

Wrapping paper and yarn.

Wrapping paper and yarn.

Wrapping paper, yarn and strips of fabric.

Wrapping paper, yarn and strips of fabric.

Leave a Reply

