Stage 2 Experimenting with structures_Excercise 3 part 2

I have several different materials for this exercise. I started by using some yarn, because I thought that would be the easiest since I had never made a cord. Once I discovered it was actually quite easy, I started using different materials.

Several of the cords that I have made.

Several of the cords that I have made.

I have used yarns, wool, ribbon, old tights, ribbons, strips of fabric and organza and washing line cord.

Below are two sample made from old tights and washing line cord. Even though the washing line cord is quite rough, it worked really well.

Old tights and washing line cord

Old tights and washing line cord

The first cord is made from ribbon and yarn. The second from scoubidou string and yarn, the third from wool and the rest are made from yarn. The pink cord, is the first one that I made. The first version I made was quite loose, I therefore made another cord where I twisted the yarn a little tighter.

Yarn and wool

Yarn and wool

I quite like the effect of the eyelash yarns in this cord. The first cord is made from only eyelash yarn. The other two cords are made from a combination of yarn and eyelash yarn.

Yarn and eyelash yarn

Yarn and eyelash yarn

The first cord is made from ribbon and the second cord from ribbon and eyelash yarn. The ribbon that I used in the second cord contains some iron wire. It is therefore a little straighter than the first cord, But the iron wire made it a little more difficult to twist the materials.

Ribbon and eyelash yarn

Ribbon and eyelash yarn

Two cord made from organza and fabric. The organza was quite difficult to twist because it is rough. I do like the effect.

Organza and fabric.

Organza and fabric.

I really enjoyed this exercise. It will be fun experimenting using these cords.

 

Leave a Reply

