Quilt show Rijswijk

The quilt show in Rijswijk (the Netherlands) is the the first quilt show I have ever been to. It was a lot of fun but it was also very overwhelming. There were several exhibitions of work by Mieke Gootjes, a European group of textile artists called ‘Art Quilt Fusion’, a group of Hungarian quilters called ‘Modern Mühely’, Annette Jeukens and Jacqueline de Jong-van Baalen called ‘Street Art’ and much more.

There was too much amazing work to mention it all, but I want to blog about some of the highlights of these exhibitions.

I love the colours in this art quilt. It is one of my favourite quilts of the day.

Complicity by Sophie Furbeyre.

Complicity by Sophie Furbeyre.

Another piece by Sophie Furbeyre. I love the openings in the quilts and the details in each bubble.

Bubbles by Sophie Furbeyre

Bubbles by Sophie Furbeyre

 

Close-up of Bubbles by Sophie Furbeyre

Close-up of Bubbles by Sophie Furbeyre

This quilt was featured in the advertisement of the quilt show. It is a quilt made by Mieke Gootjes. I feel in love with the quilt the  first that I saw it in that advertisement. The use of colours is amazing.

Art quilt made by Mieke Gootjes

Art quilt made by Mieke Gootjes

I found the exhibition by Annette Jeukens en Jacqueline de Jong-van Baalen around the theme ‘Street art’ also really inspiring. I love how both textile artist incorporate mixed media into their art quilts.

Art quild made by Annette Jeukens

Art quild made by Annette Jeukens

All in all was this a really inspiring day. My head was reeling and there was inspiration to be found everywhere I looked. All the artwork was amazing and I am definitely going back next year. But first I want to try out some of the things that I have seen at the quilt show!

 

Leave a Reply

