Project 9 Woven structures_Soumak

I was not familiar with this technique, but I really enjoyed working on this sample. Once I understood the technique, weaving the sample went really quickly.

I started weaving rows of yarn, eyelash yarn, wax cord and satin cord.

Soumak close-up. Eyelash yarn, yarm and satin cord.

Soumak close-up. Eyelash yarn, yarn, wax cord and satin cord.

I have also used yarn, velvet ribbon, strips of fabric and knitting ribbon.

Soumak close-up. Strips of fabric, knitting ribbon, yarn and velvet ribbon.

Soumak close-up. Strips of fabric, knitting ribbon, yarn and velvet ribbon.

Below is a picture of the full sample:

Soumak. Full sample.

Soumak. Full sample.

I am pleased with the result. I have several different materials and I like the effects that can be achieved when using the same technique but different materials. The technique is a lot of fun and the results that can be achieved are really interesting.

Leave a Reply

