Project 9 woven structures_Basic weaving

I had a toyloom as a child, which I used quite a lot until it broke. A while ago, I found something that I had made as a child and it was fun to see it again.

Cloth I made as a child.

Piece of a scarf that I made as a child.

Before I started weaving, I decided to create an inspiration board on Pinterest, so I could pin images that I find inspirational. The URL of my inspiration board is: http://pinterest.com/mcollaris/inspiration-board-for-assignment-4_a-creative-appr/

While working on my inspiration board, I came across a documentary by the BBC called ‘Mastercrafs’. It is a programme which celebrates six of the traditional crafts that built Great Britain and its heritage. It is a really interesting and inspiring documentary.

I had not used a loom in years, but once I started weaving, I remembered again how much I like it. I started by a weaving a couple of rows of blue yarn and then started weaving rows of alternating colours.

Plain weaving close-up

Plain weaving close-up

I also wanted to experiment with different materials, instead of only weaving with yarns. I have alternated rows of yarn with rows of wrapping ribbon and raffia. I really like the shiny surface created by the wrapping ribbon and the texture of the raffia.

Plain weaving close-up. Yarn, raffia and wrapping ribbon.

Plain weaving close-up. Yarn, raffia and wrapping ribbon.

I then took some ribbon and strips of fabric and paper to weave. I really like the different textures.

Plain weaving close-up. Ribbon, strips of fabric and paper.

Plain weaving close-up. Ribbon, strips of fabric and paper.

I have finished the sample by weaving a couple of rows of knitting ribbon.

Plain weaving close-up. Knitting ribbon.

Plain weaving close-up. Knitting ribbon.

Below is a picture of the full sample. I am really pleased with the result. I have used different colours and materials and I really like the different textures.

Plain weaving.

Plain weaving. Full sample

 

Leave a Reply

