Reflection after Project 6

I liked working with fabric in this way. I especially like experimenting with reverse applique, folding and the raised shapes. I think it is a great way to add a 3D quality to your work. Overall, I am pleased with my results, but I do feel that I could have pushed have further. So I am definitely going to continue experimenting with the techniques mentioned in project 6. The one thing that I am not happy about is the moulding of fabric. I do not like the results and I did not really enjoy using this technique.

At the beginning of this project, I had trouble letting go of the source material that I had chosen to use. I felt really confined and had trouble letting go of the drawings instead of trying to copy them. I think I would have been able to work more freely if I had been able to just start experimenting with the fabric rather than working from drawings. That is probably the reason that I had a difficult time getting into it. I like trying out all the techniques mentioned in stages 3 and 4, but I struggled with stage 2. Selecting the right drawings and especially making the fabric collages let to a lot of doubts. I am satisfied with the larger samples that I produced using my chosen drawings, but I had a lot of doubts about whether the drawings that I had chosen, were strong enough and if they were indeed the right choices.

However, I do feel that once I was working on the final sample of Stage 4, I was able to let go of the source material and let the fabric control the outcome.

I enjoyed experimenting with all the different fabrics that I had selected in stage 1 and finding out how all the different fabrics react.

I do not thing that working with stitch is limiting. I have enjoyed every technique that I have learned so far in this course and I am looking forward to experiment with them more.

Leave a Reply

