Visit to the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam

I have been to the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam a couple of weeks ago. I did not know what to expect because I had never been there and the museum had just been reopened. So I was very surprised to find textiles in the museum. I have seen some work of Kitty van der Mijll Dekker. She was a Dutch textile designer and the first Dutch woman to study at Bauhaus. She wanted to become a interior designer, but was advised to become a textile designer. She experimented with weaving with unusual materials such as cellophane, iron wire, raffia and synthetic yarns.

Relief rug by Kitty van der Mijll Dekker

Relief rug by Kitty van der Mijll Dekker

Apart from the work made by Kitty van der Mijll Dekker, there was also work of others artists. I think this was the first time that I had seen woven work in a museum. In my opinion all the work was really impressive. I had never seen these kinds of results achieved by weaving wool and other materials.

Yellow rug by Loes van der Horst from the serie Replying. Made of woven polypropylene

Yellow rug by Loes van der Horst from the serie Replying. Made of woven polypropylene

 

Over and under by Herman Scholten. Handwoven wool.

Over and under by Herman Scholten. Handwoven wool.

Leave a Reply

