Project 6 Manipulating fabric_Stage 4 Raised and structured surface textures

Folding and pleating fabric

Just before I started working on this exercise, I found two great books on sale. ‘Creative Tucks and Textures for quilts and Embroidery’ by Jennie Rayment and ’20 Folded Fabrics Projects’ by Louise Mabbs. Both books are really inspiring and were a great help during this exercise.

I love origami and this was the perfect opportunity to try folding fabric. I found out that folding fabric is not easy, hence the brad in the middle of my sample. But I like folding and pleating fabric and I am definitely going to experiment with it further.

Pleating fabric

Pleating fabric

Folding fabric

Folding fabric

Weaving fabric

I thought this was mentioned in the course book and I had already made this sample when I realised that it was not. But I added it nonetheless.

Weaving fabric

Weaving fabric

Quilting

I did some echo quilting on the first sample. For the second sample. I drew a simple design and quilted it.

Quilting

Quilting

Quilting

Quilting

Raised shapes

Trapunto

Trapunto

I read an article in Quilting Arts magazine a few months ago about Diane Savone who embeds everyday objects in her quilts. Her work is absolutely amazing and I immediately had to think about it reading through this exercise. I chose to enclose a cardboard letter M and bread closures between a felt and a piece of blue cotton. Sewing around the letter was not easy, but I am really pleased with the result.

Raised shapes

Raised shapes

Moulding

This was probably my least favourite part. I tried it using cotton and organza and used all sorts of lids and containers to mould the fabric over. I am not really fond of the results the fabric gets really stiff because of the glue.

Moulding

Moulding

Tearing, fraying and slashing

I attached four pieces of sheer fabric to the background. I sewed netting fabric on top of the sample on the left. I slashed the netting and threaded some whole through the holes. I slashed the yellow sheer fabric and threaded a piece of ribbon through the middle. For the sample at the bottom, I cut long strips of organza and threaded those through frayed curtain fabric.

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 4 Raised and structured surfaces_slashing

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 4 Raised and structured surfaces_slashing

I like the wavy effect in the sample below I sewed sheer fabric to a piece of cotton. I slashed the sheer fabric a regular intervals.

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 4 Raised and structured textures_slashing

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 4 Raised and structured textures_slashing

Faux chenille

Faux chenille

Leave a comment