Project 6 Manipulating fabric_Stage 3 applied fabric techniques a larger sample

For my final sample, I chose to applique my drawing of an Amaryllis and use a square out of another drawing as a vase. These are drawings that I chose to use:

Drawing of an Amaryllis

Drawing of an Amaryllis

Experimenting with cutting out shapes

Experimenting with cutting out shapes

I used cotton fabrics for the vase. The flower is made using sheer fabric in white and purple. After I appliqued the vase and the flower, I decided that the flower needed something extra, so I used a running stitch to mimic the veins in the petals. I decided to keep let the fabric of the vase fray, because I think it adds a little extra to the sample. This is the end result:

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 3 Applied applique techniques_a larger sampleA larger sample

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 3 Applied applique techniques_a larger sampleA larger sample

I am pleased with the end result and I am definitely going to use this technique more often.

 

Leave a Reply

