Project 6 Manipulating fabric_ Stage 2 Developing ideas

After reading through the exercises of project 6 and and looking through my sketchbook, I decided to choose the following drawings:

Drawing of an Amaryllis

Drawing of an Amaryllis

I chose this drawing because of the colours and the composition.

Experimenting with cutting out shapes

Experimenting with cutting out shapes

This is technically no drawing but just an experiment where I cut out squares and placed them in other spaces. I chose this solely because of the shapes that appeared when I put back the squares.

Rubber stamps

Rubber stamps

I chose these rubber stamps because of the textures.

Pastels

Pastels

This is also not a drawing but I like the texture of the paper napkins and the colours.

sketchbook 24-2-2013

Golden rock

Golden rock

A picture of the Golden rock in Mon State, Myanmar and my drawing of it where I tried to emulate the the different textures of the rock.

Tangerine

Tangerine

Drawing of a tangerine. I really like the colours and texures.

Fabric collages

I found it difficult to make fabric collages based upon the drawings that I chose. I was not sure how literal the collages had to be. But looking at the fabric samples that I put together in Stage 1 and experimenting with overlapping different fabrics, shapes and colours, I made these fabric collages:

Collage of an Amaryllis

Collage of an Amaryllis

The collage I made of the Amaryllis drawing. It is a quite literal collage where I tried to mimic the different colours of the flower with different sheer fabrics. Because it is so literal, I think the collage does match the drawing.

Project 6 Manipulating fabric_stage 2 Recording ideas-2

This collage is also quite literal. I chose to cut out the shapes of two squares out of fabric and experiment with different types of fabric.

Organza on lace, linen and polyester

Organza on lace, linen and polyester

I put organza on different types of fabric to recreate the textures of the stamps. The collage does not match the stamps exactly, but it does have a the different textures that the stamps have as well.

Fabric collage of the Golden rock

Fabric collage of the Golden rock

I cut strips out of different fabrics to emulate the different colours of the Golden Rock. The collage does not match the image.

Collage inspired by the pastel drawing

Collage inspired by the pastel drawing

Because this is not inspired by an actual drawing, the collage does not match the source material. But I do think that the calm nature of the source material reflects in the collage.

 

Leave a Reply

