Project 5 Painting and printing part 2

I really liked dyeing my own fabrics, so I decided to try out some more techniques.

Shaving cream

I using liquid acrylics and ink to dye these samples. The technique is really easy and I like the results. I had expected that the fabric would become really stiff, but it is actually really soft.

Dyeing with shaving cream

Dyeing with shaving cream

Dyeing with shaving cream

Dyeing with shaving cream

Glue resist

I really like the result. I ‘drew’ a design with clear craft glue and painted the fabric with watered-down acrylic paint. I was a bit worried that the glue would not come off easily, but that was not a problem.

Glue resist dyeing

Glue resist dyeing

Masking tape resist

This was so easy. I made a design with masking tape and dyed the fabric with watered-down acrylic paint. Once the paint was dry, I peeled off the masking tape.

Masking tape resist

Masking tape resist

Printing with bubble wrap

I have put a piece of bubble wrap underneath my fabric and painted the fabric. The picture below is of the back of the fabric. I actually like the back of the fabric better because the different bubbles are more visible.

Printig with bubble wrap

Printing with bubble wrap

Snow dyeing

Since there has been a lot of snow lately, I had to try using snow to dye fabric. I was not sure what the best technique would be and a quick search Google search gave me a lot of different techniques, so I decided to just go ahead and try it. I first put a layer of snow in my container and put the fabric on top of it. I then added some acrylic paint and another layer of snow. I waited until the snow had melted and this is the result:

Snow dyeing

Snow dyeing

Salt and sugar resist

I dyed the sample on top with watered-down acrylic paint and sprinkled a lot of sea salt on top of it. I really like the result. I used the same technique on the second sample, but instead of using salt I used sugar. The fabric actually turned a little green. I dyed the third sample using liquid acrylic inks and masking tape.

Salt and sugar resist

Salt and sugar resist

Shibori technique

I wrapped rubber bands tightly around the fabrics and dyed the fabric using liquid acrylic inks.

Shibori technique

Shibori technique

Overall, I am satisfied with the results. I have tried a lot of new techniques and I am definitely going to dye fabric more often because I like the unique results and the experimenting.

Leave a Reply

