Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_Exercise 2

I decided to try both options mentioned in this exercise. I chose yarns in the colours yellow, green, blue and pink. In the sample at the top I started with yellow, then I added blue, green and finally pink. In the sample at the bottom I started again with the yellow and I added blue. Once I added the green, I removed the yellow. I think both methods are really interesting and the effects you get are quite different. I am not sure which method I like the best, but I think the sample at the bottom is more peaceful because the movement is more gradual and there seem to be less colours mixed together even though I used the same four colours for the two samples.

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_exercise 2

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_exercise 2

For the second part of this exercise I chose a drawing that I made using pink, blue and purple acrylic paint with white paper napkins for texture.

Pastel drawing using acrylic paint and paper napkins

Pastel drawing using acrylic paint and paper napkins

I first made a sketch of how I was going to translate it into stitches.

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_Exercise 2 drawing

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_Exercise 2 drawing

I like to idea of using a drawing as inspiration, but I did feel a little confined at first. I was too much trying to replicate my sketch and making sure that every knot was at the exact same spot as in my sketch. Once I was able to let that go, I started to enjoy the exercise more and the quite like the end result.

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_exercise 2-1

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_exercise 2-1

 

Leave a Reply

