Stage 4 Colour moods and themes exercise 2

Deciding which colour mood I am drawn to was not easy. I am drawn to cold colours as well as to warm colours. When I am in a quilt shop, I always immediately go to the bright, warm coloured fabrics e.g. reds and yellows. But when I am shopping for cloths, I often opt for more subtle, subdued colours. In the end, I choose to start with an image of a lake surrounded by mountains. The image only consists of three colours: blue green and white, but with different tones within the colours. I also like the fact that the image has a lot of texture, especially on the mountains. I tried to recreate those textures with structured wallpaper for the everlasting snow and a picture of moss for the greenery on the mountains.

Stage 4  Colour moods and themes_exercise 2

Stage 4 Colour moods and themes_exercise 2

I used a paint chip, a piece of wallpaper, embroidery floss and cotton fabric to match the colours in the image.

I am still working on a colour bag for warm colours, but I feel like I have not found the right materials to match the colours of my image, so I will include pictures of that colour bag at a later time.

Leave a Reply

