Stage 2 Looking for shapes and drawing_Exercise 4

This was a scary exercise. I think I made this exercise at least four times using different objects because I was not satisfied with the results. I had no trouble drawing real objects during exercise 4 of Stage 3 ‘Recording colours accurately’. In the end, I felt really uninspired because none of the drawings that I made were successful. Looking back, I think that I may have put too much pressure on myself to make pretty drawings instead of enjoying the process. After a lot of rejected work, I suddenly became inspired again and decided to draw some thread spools. The spool on the left is embroidery floss, the one in the middle iron wire and the spool on the rights is copper wire.

Spools of thread

Spools of thread

I started with drawing the shapes and textures and recording the colours.

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing_exercise 4

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing_exercise 4

Again I decided that colour was the most important to me. I made a drawing using graphite pencils and gel pens. A drawing using watercolour pencils and a collage using copy paper, a page from an old book and strips that came out of the paper shredder and gelpens for colour.

Dry and wet media

Dry and wet media

Collage

Collage

My favourite is the collage because of the colours really stand out because of the several layers of paper that I used.

 

 

Leave a Reply

