Research point after Project 3 Colour

I decided to use the Christening gown that my grandmother crocheted for my in 1987. The gown is made out of white cotton and consists of chains and double crochets. My grandmother used to crochet and knit a lot. My grandparents house was full of handmade things and all their children and grandchildren had handmade and machine made knitted sweaters. One of my favourite sweaters as a child was a sweater that my grandmother knitted for me with the alphabet on it. My mother had a sweater that matched mine. What I really love about this Christening gown is the fact that my grandmother made this especially for me. It is a clear expression of her love for me.

The full gown

My Christening gown

My Christening gown

Some close-up

Christening gown close-up

Close-up 1

Christening gown close-up

Close-up 2

My sketches

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_research point

Stage 6 Combining textures and colour effects_research point

 

Leave a Reply

