Project 5 Painting and printing_Stage 3 Printing and painting on fabric

For the exercise I selected a couple of different textile surfaces to print on. I chose silk, velvet, organza, cotton, curtain fabric, felt and linen. I used the design ideas I selected in Stage 3 ‘Selecting from your drawings’. And I used a couple of new drawings that I made in my sketchbook.

I was really anxious about the results. I had painted on fabric before, but only on cotton using acrylic paint. In the beginning, I was really worried that something would go wrong, but I was able to let that fear go after painting white silk using inks. Because the inks cannot be controlled, I just had to wait to see what was going to happen. It turned out to be one of my favourite samples. I love how the colours flow. Another sample that I really like is the white organza on which I stamped using empty thread spools. It is the only fabric that I used that was not plain coloured. I think the swirls in the background and the blue circles that I stamped on the fabric really work well together.

Birds on organza using Lumiere metallic acrylic paint

Birds on organza using Lumiere metallic acrylic paint

Birds on cotton fabric using paintsticks

Birds on cotton fabric using paintsticks

Flower using liquid acrylic paint and acrylic paint

Flower on cotton fabric using acrylic paint

Flowers using liquid acrylic paint, fabric markers and acrylic paint

Flowers on linen using liquid acrylic paint, fabric markers and acrylic paint

Circles on silk using inks

Circles on silk using inks

Leaves on felt using acrylic paint and fabric markers

Leaves on felt using acrylic paint and fabric markers

Blocks on curtain fabric using paintsticks

Blocks on curtain fabric using paintsticks

project 5 painting and printing_stage 3 printing and painting on fabric -8 project 5 painting and printing_stage 3 printing and painting on fabric -2

Circles on organza using acrylic paint and abstract close-up on silk using fabric pastels

Circles on organza using acrylic paint and abstract close-up on silk using fabric pastels

Leaf on cotton using liquid acrylics

Leaf on cotton using liquid acrylics

Circles on cotton using acrylic paint

Circles on cotton using acrylic paint

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

