Project 4 Developing design ideas_Stage 2 Looking for shapes and drawing

I discovered the work of Friedensreich Hunderwasser (born Friedrich Stowasser) last year when I was browsing the art section in a bookcentre in Aachen. I think his work his really interesting and almost fairytale like. So I decided to use pictures of his buildings as source material. Another picture that I used was a picture of a butterfly.

This was my source material:

Stained glass window in the St. Barbara church in  Bärnbach (Austria)

Stained glass window in the St. Barbara church in Bärnbach (Austria)

Column designed by Friedensreich Hundertwasser

Column designed by Friedensreich Hundertwasser

Butterfly

Butterfly

I started with making a collage of the stained glass window. I was having trouble recreating the shapes of the window and I started over using a different way of recording the shapes, but I am glad that I persevered because I really like the end result. I tried drawing only the negative spaces of the column, but did not turn out so great, but I decided to include it anyway.

 

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing

Lastly, I made a drawing of the crackled wall in the back of the picture of the column and I made a pastel drawing of part of the wing of the butterfly. I really like the result of the pastel drawing and I found the picture of the butterfly the most inspiring once I started recording the shapes.

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing

Project 4 developing design ideas_stage 2 looking for shapes and drawing

 

Leave a Reply

