Pointillism

I have been researching Pointillism recently and I found it truly amazing to see paintings that are build up with little dots. Especially how the colours gradually change across the painting. One of my favourite painters is Georges Seurat. I love the subtle change of colours in his painting ‘The Channel of Gravelines’.

The Channel  of Gravelines by Georges Seurat

The Channel of Gravelines by Georges Seurat

Here are some other favourites of mine by Georges Seurat

Study for The Channel of Gravelines by Georges Seurat

Study for The Channel of Gravelines by Georges Seurat

Study for the Chahut by Georges Seurat

Study for the Chahut by Georges Seurat

These are two other paintings that I absolutely love. Especially because of its use of colours. The first one is a painting by Henri-Edmond Cross called ‘Afternoon at Pardignon’. The second one is a painting by Georges Lemmen called ‘The Beach at Heist’.

Afternoon at Pardignon by Henri-Edmond Cross

Afternoon at Pardignon by Henri-Edmond Cross

The Beach at Heist by Georges Lemmen

The Beach at Heist by Georges Lemmen

I decided that I had to try my hand at Pointillism. I only used blue. It will be interesting to try this technique in a actual painting.

Pointillism_a page from my sketchbook

Pointillism_a page from my sketchbook

 

Leave a Reply

