Experiments with printing and painting_Stage 2 experimenting with techniques

I really liked this stage. I’ve painted on fabric before, but I had never made stencils or masks or made my own stamps. I started with making stamps out of fun foam and using everyday objects to stamp onto fabric and an assortment of papers.

Relief blocks

I made two relief blocks. I used string, rice and found objects for the first block. For the second block I only used string.

Relief blocks

Relief blocks

Relief block

Relief block

Relief block

Relief block

The rice did not really work, probably because it is too small. I like the effect, but I think less is more in this case, because the block with just the string on it gives the best results.

Leaves

Ever since I was I child, I’ve collected leaves to dry them but until recently I had never used them to stamp with.

Relief block and leaf

Relief block and leaf

Leaves

Leaves

Leaves and found objects

Leaves and everyday objects

Everyday objects

I tried stamping with empty tread spools, bubble wrap and fun foam flowers. I am really pleased with the effect that I created with the tread spools.

Stamping with everyday objects

Stamping with everyday objects

Fun foam

A while ago, I started making my own stamps out of fun foam. I really like it because it is a cheap and easy way to make a lot of stamps.

Leaves out of fun foam

Leaves out of fun foam

 

Leaves out of fun foam

Leaves out of fun foam

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

