Experiments with printing and painting_Stage 2 Experimenting with techniques part 2

I had never made stencils before, but once I started I found it hard to stop. I have made a bunch of different stencils that I used on fabric and paper. I used paints as well as paintsticks. I made six stencils:

Ballerina stencil

Ballerina stencil

Ballerina stencilled on rice paper

Ballerina stenciled on rice paper

Bow stencil

Bow stencil

Bow stencilled on curtain fabric

Bow stenciled on curtain fabric

Umbrella stencil

Umbrella stencil

Umbrellas stenciled on cotton fabric

Umbrellas stenciled on cotton fabric

Cat stencil

Cat stencil

Cat stenciled on handmade paper

Cat stenciled on handmade paper

 

Birds stencil

Birds stencil

Birds stenciled on structured paper

Birds stenciled on structured paper

Bird stenciled on wallpaper

Bird stenciled on wallpaper

 

Scissors stencil

Scissors stencil

Scissors stenciled on copy paper

Scissors stenciled on copy paper

My favourite stencil is the one of the umbrellas. The shape works really well as a stencil. I think the least successful stencil is the one of the scissors. I also tried using masking tape on paper.

Mask

Mask

Leave a Reply

