David Hockney. A bigger Picture

Two weeks ago, I went to the Museum Ludwig in Cologne. It was a real inspirational exhibition. There were a number of his sketchbooks on display which was really interesting. I am always trying to make pretty, finished pages in my sketchbook and worrying about making mistakes. Seeing his sketchbooks made my realise that sketchbooks are not meant to be finished pieces of art but can be used as inspiration or to experiment.

Yorkshire sketchbook David Hockney

Yorkshire sketchbook David Hockney

I was really inspired by David Hockney’s work. Especially his use of colours and different media. He does not only paint on canvas, but he also uses his iPhone and iPad to paint.

Another thing I really liked was his use of colour. I love bright, vibrant colours and he uses them a lot.

I wish I lived closer to Cologne so I could go to exhibition again.

David Hockney_Winter Timber, 2009

David Hockney_Winter Timber, 2009

David Hockney_The Arrival of Spring in Woldgate, East Yorkshire, in 2011

David Hockney_The Arrival of Spring in Woldgate, East Yorkshire, in 2011

 

 

Leave a Reply

