Stage 3 Recording colours accurately exercise 4

For my first sketch, I decided to use some of the minerals that I have been collecting since I was a child. I’ve placed 3 minerals on a piece of vibrant red paper (the colour of the paper is really vibrant even though it doesn’t seem to be on this photo).

After that, I made another sketch using fruit that I placed on blue paper.


It wasn’t easy to mix the colours. I had some trouble recording the translucency of the minerals and the way the other minerals, the sun and the paper reflected in the minerals. But I definitely learned a lot studying the objects that I painted and I’m getting more confident in identifying colours and trusting my eyes rather than listen to what my brain tells me that I see.

Leave a Reply

