Groninger Museum

I while ago, I went to the Groninger Museum in Groningen. I had a great day and I’ve seen some wonderful pieces of art that really inspired me. I spent the whole day looking at the work of Chinese artist Yin Xiuzhen and Dutch fashion designer Iris van Herpen.
Lately, I’ve been really interested in recycling materials for my projects, so I love the way Yin Xiuzhen uses old clothes. Her work is so impressive and inspiring. Every piece seems to change depending on the angle. Some pieces could actually be viewed from the inside as well as from the outside.

Portable Cities by Yin Xiuzhen

Unbearable warmth by Yin Xiuzhen

Weapons by Yin Xiuzhen

I’m definitely going to try to make my own city.

Another exhibition that I really loved was the exhibition dedicated to the work of Iris of Herpen. It’s always great to see the work of Dutch artists and the the clothes made by Iris van Herpen are amazing. Her clothes are really innovative and the handwork and use of material is amazing.

Synesthesia by Iris van Herpen

Capricole Haute Couture by Iris van Herpen

 

Mummification by Iris van Herpen

 

 

Leave a Reply

