Stage 3 Using marks to create surface textures

Exercise 1

I’ve used a page from a magazine as my visual source. I’ve made the marks using felt tips, gel ink pens and pastel pencils. I had fun looking for a suitable source material and translating the textures in the photo into marks, but it wasn’t easy.

Exercise 2

For this exercise, I used the floor of my apartment, my TV cabinet and a butterfly ornament as my source material. I’m not sure about the marks that I made of my TV cabinet. I tried to make a close-up of the wood grain, but I don’t feel like I was very successful. I do like the drawings I made of the wings of the butterfly ornament.

Leave a Reply

